Third Annual Wildcat Ultras

When we were up in Vermont, I somehow managed to put on a couple of races. There was the Twin State 50 that kind of morphed into something else as it was decided that New Hampshire was just to risky. There was another Fat Ass that kind of failed in an attempt to raise money and sent runners on a snow covered loop during muzzle loader season.

After a couple of these, I decided to try directing a real race. Everything was setup, permits in place, sanctioning paid for, port-a-john rented, people registered, and then a job in Dublin, Georgia popped up and it was moving time. I was pretty close to canceling the event, but my brother – who was co-rd’ing with me – stepped up and made it happen. It sounded like everyone had fun and it made me glad, but not being able to be there and see it unfold was difficult.

So here I am in Georgia trying to figure out routes to run, potential loops or point to points, when I got an email from the RD of the Wildcat Ultras wondering if I had any interest in helping out with third running of the event. Of course I was interested, but there were a few people I had to talk to first. Well, one, anyway. I got her blessing and hopped on board. The dream is not dead!

So this coming Labor Day, I’ll be in Pensacola, Florida at the fine Escambia Equine Center helping to make sure everything runs smoothly as a bunch of yahoos attempt to run from a 50k to 100 miles. Not only did it get me back into rd’ing, it got me fired up to start some things in Dublin. Sure they might be a year out, but the wheels are turning.

wcu

Also, you should sign up here.

One thought on “Third Annual Wildcat Ultras

  1. Exciting you’ll be in my state, but not really in my neck of the woods. Wondering a bit about the Skoras. Have very narrow feet, but since my spine injury when any kind of pressure (like from socks and shoes) are applied to my first few toes they feel as if a rubber band is wrapped around them. I remember you saying the Skora had a wider toe box? Wonder if I can lace them tight and have the wide toe box… not really gonna be running for ages, but at least I can think about it right?
    And it’s always possible that I’ll end up Crewing someone at Wildcat, but prolly not….still if you need someone to leave some promotional cards out at the gym and park run… lemme know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

